Insights and lessons from Weeks 24-26

·

2 min read

Weeks 24-26. What I’ve learned during this time.

Few useful ideas and decisions which helped me a lot:

  • Don’t stick too much. If the solution of a problem is not obvious and not coming to your mind after a couple of minutes of thinking—peek at the solution or search on the internet. After understanding the solution — write the solution on your own, and maybe, completely another way. Especially, this is true about study tasks whose main complexity is not in the field of the current topic and rather in an algorithmic approach. There should be a dedicated time in your study plan for such things.

  • On the last Saturday, 28 January, I summed up the month and developed a plan for February. In January, I only managed to complete the “JavaScript Algorithms and Data Structures” course on FCC without certification projects (I was able to do only two of them straight away, maybe I’ll finish others another time). I didn’t manage to finish reading my JavaScript book with its tasks. And the same story with making my own portfolio website, I’ve managed to make only the navbar of the site.

  • I’ve decided that there is no more time to be mainly focused on learning Vanilla JS, HTML/CSS, and it’s time to move to the frameworks. From now, I’m going to learn React JS half of the time and another half for both Vanilla JS and HTML/CSS, because I still have lots of gaps to cover.

Topics I’ve covered:

  • Vanilla JS: finished FCC course, but without completion of all the five certification tasks. Javascript.info: modifying the document, styles and classes, sizes, scrolling, and coordinates. Events, events delegation, event bubbling and capturing, default actions, and dispatching custom events. Freshened up: scope, hoisting, strict mode.

  • HTML/CSS: learning Responsive WD https://web.dev/learn/design/responsive-images/

  • Tools: npm, Vite.

  • React: tried to build a tic-tac-toe game with the official get-started tutorial, but understood almost nothing. Need to crack down on the main concepts of React and read the documentation.