[35] Gathering Requirements, and Interview Preparation

·

2 min read

This week, I completed a React.js course that was quite extensive, with over 50 hours of material and additional topics such as Next.js and TypeScript. Following that, I began gathering technical requirements for the project I wrote about last week. This didn't take long, as I am familiar with the field and have worked with this client for over two years. Ultimately, we decided that I will sequentially develop two versions of their store. The first version will include everything that is needed right now, while the second version will resemble a full-fledged store.

Here is a description of the first version of the store: Concept: The assortment is updated infrequently, and all data comes from feed files. It is essential to display availability. No data is sent from the client to the server.

Essentially, this will be a website with almost no backend, where the only backend function will periodically check an XML feed from our supplier and update the catalog structure.

The concept of the second version of the store differs significantly: the same as before, plus the presence of entities such as "buyer" and "admin." The buyer can register, place orders, leave reviews, and the rating is calculated based on this. The admin can add products, descriptions, images, and moderate reviews. In other words, this is the basic functionality of any online store.

Over the last couple of days, I've been trying to understand which data from the XML feed I need, in what format, and how to parse it. If not for ChatGPT, I would have spent a week on this because I had to go through several options before I understood what I needed and how it should work. Fortunately, ChatGPT allows me to conduct such experiments very quickly without worrying about spending too much time on code that will need to be discarded.

In addition, I have started preparing for interviews, which I plan to begin in early May. I am reviewing typical JavaScript questions, reading theory, and solving Codewars problems.