[31-34] Time for a real project

Photo by Clark Tibbs on Unsplash

[31-34] Time for a real project

·

2 min read

The only thing I was doing the last three weeks was the React course and at some point, I've got a feeling that:
A. My head going to explode from the amount of information🤯.
B. I'm starting to forget topics from before😢.

So, I decided to make a project from zero to deploying. It was right after finishing the Routing section in my React.js course. I decided to resort to the help of chat GPT, I asked it about the main steps of developing a web app with React and Firebase as a backend. It gave me a pretty decent answer and I asked it to unfold each step in detail later.

But unfortunately (or not), I had to postpone this project because a couple of days ago, I reached out to my old customer from my marketer's past and offered him my developer's services, because I knew, that he always got some ideas, but can't afford experienced developers. So, that was the deal: experience and some money for me and a new website for him. It's going to be a small e-commerce project built on Next.js and it seems challenging, but probably that's for the best.

In addition to that, in April I'm going to spend 10-20% of my time preparing for the job interview because I realized that making projects with all that fancy frameworks and libraries is great, but you can't prepare yourself for questions like: "Look at this piece of JS code, what would the output look like?". You need to hone basics, such as vanilla JS, HTML/CSS, algorithms etc. Why am I so sure of that? Because in this week I tried to land a trainee position in some outsourcing company by passing their quiz, and I got only 64 from 100 points. I couldn't say that questions were hard, no. But most of them were about JavaScript and its quirks plus some HTML/CSS questions, which at this point, after 2 months of learning React I've started to forget.

Traditionally, topics I'd been studying during weeks 31-34:

Optimization React.memo + useCallback, state scheduling and batching, useMemo. Class-based components, lifecycle methods. ErrorBoundary, HTTP requests, connecting to DB, requests to Firebase. Building custom react hooks, working with forms, user input, and custom hooks for forms. Redux/ Redux toolkit, Redux practice with a shopping cart, Redux & async code, actionCreator Thunk. Redux + put|get from firebase. React router (navigation, dynamic routes, useFetcher() etc). Authentification and deployment of React apps. Next.js basics, animation in React apps.