[27-28] Learn React by docs is not quick and comprehensive enough.

Β·

2 min read

Week 27.

As I mentioned in the previous week, my first shallow dive into React basics wasn't so successful. But after watching this video, it became much clearer what I'm dealing with.

Also, I found out that my understanding of prototypes in JS is poor, but this guy made an awesome explanation. Unfortunately, his video is available only in Russian πŸ€·β€β™‚οΈ.

I started to dive into React by reading basic concepts on the official documentation website, after that, I read it again, repeating and running all the code examples and experimenting with them. At the same time, I noticed that my understanding of β€œthis” keyword in JS is quite superficial, and I had to read a few articles and watch some videos about it.

After documentation, I returned to the tic-tac-toe game from React tutorial and went through it step by step and this time it was much easier to understand what is going on here.

Week 28.

At the end of the tic-tac-toe tutorial, I decided to make some extras. For example, I made a feature that calculates the coordinates of a click. And also, for the sake of science, I used ChatGPT for solving some extras. Although the code and explanation from chat didn't work as I expected, it admitted its mistake πŸ˜‚

And it's also worth mentioning that it gave me examples without hooks, as I'd asked because I didn't know what it is at that time. It helped me to solve another problem and overall, I think that this thing can be useful sometimes, especially if you are studying and need some explanation, but don't put too much trust in it.

After that, I decided that I will be fiddling too much if I continue with React JS on my own, and I bought a course on Udemy. A friend of mine who has a great experience as a front-end developer recommended it. For the three days, I completed 15% percent, but maybe it's because the beginning was quite easy, and I've already known some beginner topics.

Β